1600 East Golf Road
Suite 0700
Des Plaines, IL 60016
Phone: 847-296-9200
Fax: 847-296-9207

About NWMC Transportation


Northwest Municipal Conference members are proactive in our efforts to improve the lives of residents through transportation planning initiatives. Our members believe the most effective approach to address regional transportation issues is through cooperative planning.

The transportation division employs two transportation planners whose primary focus is to utilize the cooperative planning approach to turn conference priorities into actual projects that will improve the lives of our residents and help attract future economic development.


Calendar of Transportation Meetings/Deadlines

Below is a list of upcoming transportation related dates of interest to our members.  The NWMC Transportation Committee typically meets on the fourth Thursday of each month, from September to May.

  • Friday, January 10, 8:30 a.m. – North Shore Council of Mayors Technical Committee – NWMC Offices
  • Friday, January 10, 9:00 a.m. - noon – STP-L Call for Projects Workshop – Oakton Community College, Room 1604
  • Wednesday, January 15 – STP-L Call for Projects Opens
  • Tuesday, January 21, 10:30 a.m. – Bicycle and Pedestrian Committee – NWMC Offices
  • Thursday, January 23, 8:30 a.m. – Transportation Committee – NWMC Offices

Agency Links

Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP)
Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT)
Illinois Tollway
Regional Transportation Authority (RTA)
Chicago Transit Authority (CTA)
Cook County Highway Department
Lake County Department of Transportation
DuPage County Division of Transportation
McHenry County Highway Department
Kane County Division of Transportation