1600 East Golf Road
Suite 0700
Des Plaines, IL 60016
Phone: 847-296-9200
Fax: 847-296-9207

The North Shore Council of Mayors


Traffic LightThe Northwest Municipal Conference serves as home for the North Shore Council of Mayors, a cooperative body focused upon programming federal transportation funding for local road, transit, and bicycle facility projects. Members of the North Shore Council operate through a Technical Committee comprised of local engineers and public works directors whose mission is to identify and address local improvements to the transportation network.  The North Shore Council is one of 11 sub-regional councils in the Chicago region that represent local governments on transportation issues through the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP). CMAP serves as the Chicago region’s metropolitan planning organization (MPO), and is responsible for the programming of federal Surface Transportation Program (STP) funding.

North Shore Council Membership

The following municipalities are members of the North Shore Council: Evanston, Glencoe, Glenview, Golf, Kenilworth, Lincolnwood, Morton Grove, Northbrook, Northfield, Skokie, Wilmette, and Winnetka.

Current Program and Methodology

North Shore Council STP Methodology Update

In order to keep up with best practices and the evolving needs of our communities, the North Shore Technical Committee has drafted an updated methodology for distribution of federal Surface Transportation Program (STP) funding. As part of this process, the draft document was available for public review and comment from Wednesday, July 17, 2019 through Friday, August 16, 2019. The public comment period is now closed and the final STP methodology will go before the full North Shore Council of Mayors for their approval on September 11, 2019.

Adobe Logo Draft STP Project Selection Methodology

The North Shore Council has programmed future STP funds through fiscal year 2021

Adobe Logo FFY 2017-2021 STP

The North Shore Council programs STP funding utilizing a methodology developed specifically with the needs of the communities in mind.  The council revised the methodology and programming policies in early 2012. 

Adobe Logo North Shore STP Methodology


Technical Committee

The North Shore Council of Mayors Technical Committee is responsible for the programming of STP funds, and is composed of a representative from each of the twelve member municipalities.  The full Council votes on all substantive decisions made by the Technical Committee at the next NWMC Board meeting.

Meeting Schedule

Technical Committee Meetings are held quarterly on the 4th Thursday of the month. All Technical Committee meetings are held at the Skokie Village Hall and begin at 8:30am.  The 2019 meeting schedule is as follows:

  • November 13,2019

Agendas and Minutes

August 29, 2019  Agenda Packet (includes minutes from June 27, 2019)
June 27, 2019  Agenda Packet (includes minutes from May 7, 2019)
May 7, 2019  Agenda Packet (includes minutes from April 4, 2019)
April 4, 2019  Agenda Packet (includes minutes from December 19, 2018)

December 19, 2018  Agenda Packet (includes minutes from October 24, 2018)
October 24, 2018  Agenda Packet (includes minutes from September 19, 2018)
September 19, 2018  Agenda Packet (includes minutes from June 20, 2018)
June 20, 2018  Agenda Packet (includes minutes from March 21, 2018)
March 21, 2018  Agenda Packet (includes minutes from December 20, 2017)

December 20, 2017 Agenda Packet (includes minutes from September 27, 2017)
September 27, 2017 Agenda Packet (includes minutes from June 28, 2017)
June 28, 2017 -  Agenda Packet (includes minutes from March 22, 2017)
March 22, 2017- Agenda Packet (includes minutes from December 21, 2016)

December 21, 2016- Agenda Packet (includes minutes from September 28, 2016)
September 28, 2016-  Agenda Packet (includes minutes from June 22, 2016)
June 22, 2016- Agenda Packet (includes minutes from March 23, and April 20, 2016
April 20, 2016-  Agenda Packet
March 23, 2016-  Agenda Packet (includes minutes from December 16, 2015)


Annual Report

Each winter, the North Shore Council produces an annual report on their activities and accomplishments for the previously completed federal fiscal year, which runs October 1 - September 30. Also included in the report is the Council's current Surface Transportation Program summary.

FFY 2017 Annual Report
 FFY 2016 Annual Report
FFY 2015 Annual Report
FFY 2014 Annual Report
FFY 2013 Annual Report
FFY 2012 Annual Report
FFY 2011 Annual Report
FFY 2010 Annual Report


History and Previous Projects

Surface Transportation Program (STP) funding was created by Congress through the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act of 1991 and renewed through the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century in 1998 and the Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users (SAFETEA-LU) of 2005. STP funding is intended for local governments to address specific transportation issues within their geographic regions. CMAP distributes STP funds based upon a council’s population.

The North Shore Council has used STP funding to reconstruct roadways Evanston and Skokie, repair pavement conditions in Northbrook and Northfield, and modernize traffic signals in Morton Grove. Wilmette is currently utilizing STP funding to reconstruct Sheridan Road.

The following is a list of all projects accomplished in the North Shore Council using STP funds and similar locally programmed fund sources from 1972 to through federal FY 2007.

 North Shore Council of Mayors STP History