North Shore Council of Mayors


The Northwest Municipal Conference serves as home for the North Shore Council of Mayors, a cooperative body focused upon programming federal transportation funding for local road, transit, and bicycle facility projects. Members of the North Shore Council operate through a Technical Committee comprised of local engineers and public works directors whose mission is to identify and address local improvements to the transportation network. The North Shore Council is one of 11 sub-regional councils that represent local governments on transportation issues through the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP). CMAP serves as the Chicago region’s metropolitan planning organization (MPO), and is responsible for the programming of federal Surface Transportation Program (STP) funding.  Staff also assists municipalities with programming other federal transportation fund sources including the Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality (CMAQ) Program, Illinois Transportation Enhancement Program (ITEP) funds, Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP) and Safe Routes to School funds. 

The staff contact for the North Shore Council of Mayors is Brian Larson.

The following municipalities are members of the North Shore Council: Evanston, Glencoe, Glenview, Golf, Kenilworth, Lincolnwood, Morton Grove, Northbrook, Northfield, Skokie, Wilmette, and Winnetka.